Saturday, June 02, 2012


The International Casual Furnishings Association (ICFA) has named Don Bottemiller and John Miles recipients of the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The two men, both of whom are retired from Homecrest Outdoor Living, will be honored at the casual furnishings industry’s annual awards gala to be held September 22, at the Field Museum in Chicago, during the 2012 International Casual Furniture and Accessories Market. The prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award is reserved for individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the outdoor furnishings industry, to their company and to their community.

Miles was named president of Homecrest’s Crestmark International Division in 1983. Upon his retirement in 2001, he noted Homecrest’s national and international growth and recognition, but said what he valued most was the lifelong friendships he had developed over the years in the casual furniture industry.

Miles has been active in various civic and business organizations, including the Madison, Ga., Historical Preservation Commission; the Wadena, Minn., Rotary; and the Richter Cottage Interior Furnishings Committee. He received the City of Madison Superlative Service Award in 2007 and the Outstanding Preservation Leadership Award in 2011. He was also president of the Summer & Casual Furniture Manufacturers Association and served on the American Furniture Manufacturers Association Board of Directors during his term as SCFMA president. He’s been an active member of the United Methodist Church for more than 50 years.

Bottemiller served on the board of the National Association of Furniture Manufacturers and the American Furniture Manufacturers Association. He is a past president and board member of the Summer and Casual Furniture Manufacturers Association. His civic involvement includes being a longtime board member for Tri-County Health Care in Wadena, serving as a director of Luther Theological Seminary in St. Paul and chairing the board of Meadowlark Institute in Lake Park, Minn. In 1999 he was a finalist for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award, and he received the Distinguished Alumni Award from St. Olaf College.


Email address is not published
Remember Me

Write the characters in the image above