Friday, September 28, 2012

ICFA Announces 2012 Award Winners

At the gala award event during the International Casual Furniture and Accessories Market, ICFA (International Casual Furnishings Association) honored top retailers, manufacturers, representatives and designers. The event was held at the the School of the Art Institute of Chicago on September 21. On September 22 annual Apollo Awards winners were honored.

The Apollo Awards recognize retail excellence in the sales and marketing of outdoor furnishings. The winners for this award were:
•    Sunshine Furniture, Vero Beach, Fla., was the single store winner.
•    Patios Plus, Rancho Mirage, Calif., was the multi-store category winner.

Design Excellence Awards recognize products for their overall design, as well as their marketability, innovation, color, construction and imaginative use of materials. Merchandise Mart Properties Inc. co-sponsors the awards. Category winners included:
•    Cast Metal: Martini Barstool by Kara Karpenske, Karmarron Design Inc., for The Veneman Group
•    Complementary Casual Products: Dansk Coffee Table by Philip Behrens for Gloster
•    Fabric: Crazy Horse Lemongrass by D2 for Outdura Corp.
•    Outdoor Lighting: Bamboo 120V LED Floor Lamp by Dale Klaus for Patio Living Concepts
•    Outdoor Rugs/Carpeting/Flooring: Violet Pebble Yellow Outdoor Rug from Sawgrass Mills by Hatteras Outdoors
•    Rattan/Wicker/Woven Materials: Flight Woven Adjustable Chaise by John Caldwell for Brown Jordan
•    Resin/Fiberglass: Adirondack MGP Chair by Bill Vanderminden for Telescope Casual Furniture
•    Shade Products: Plantation Max F-1 by Dougan Clarke for TUUCI
•    Tubular Materials: Kantan Lounge Chair from Brown Jordan
•    Wood Furniture: Solana Dip Down Lounger by Povl Eskildsen for Gloster Furniture
•    Wrought Iron/Wrought Aluminum: Verano Arm Chair from Summer Classics

The Lillian B. Winchester "Best of Show" award, selected from among the 11 category winners listed above, went to the Flight Woven Adjustable Chaise by John Caldwell for Brown Jordan.
The prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award, reserved for individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the casual furniture industry and to their individual communities went to Don Bottemiller and John Miles, both of whom are retired from Homecrest Outdoor Living.

One manufacturer was honored in each of 10 categories for the design and quality of their products, along with their merchandising, customer service, ethics, communications and trade relations. Winners were:
•    Pride Family Brands – Cast Metal
•    Elaine Smith – Complementary Casual Products
•    Trans Ocean Import – Outdoor Carpeting/Rugs/Flooring
•    Woodard – Outdoor Lighting
•    Lloyd/Flanders – Rattan/Wicker/Woven Materials
•    Telescope Casual Furniture – Resin/Fiberglass
•    Treasure Garden – Shade Products
•    Tropitone – Tubular Materials Furniture
•    Gloster Furniture – Wood Casual
•    O.W. Lee – Wrought Iron/Aluminum

From among the 10 category winners listed above, O.W. Lee was named "Manufacturer of the Year." Both the category winners and the Manufacturer of the Year were selected in online voting.
Sales Representative of the Year selected from four finalists and determined through online voting, was Dean Smith, a representative for O.W. Lee for the last 31 years; Alu-mont for 23 years; Gold Crest for 22 years; Hanamint for 15 years; and Gloster for 8 years.


Email address is not published
Remember Me

Write the characters in the image above